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STATE OF MINNESOTA BEFGRE THE MINNESOTA
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN COMMISSIONER QF HEALTH
In the Matter of John Meers, . STIPULATION
Hearing Instrument Seller AND CONSENT ORDER

IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED by John Meers, (hereinafter "Permittee"),
and the Minnesota Department of Health (hereinafter "Department"), and that
without trial or adjudication of any issue of fact or law herein and without
any evidence or admission by any party with respect to any issue:

1. During all times herein, Permittee has been and is subject to the
jurisdiction of the Commissioner of Health from whom he holds a permit to sell
hearing instruments in the State of Minnesota;

2. For purposes of this Stipulation and Consent Order only, both parties .
agree that the following shall constitute the factual basis for the order:

a. MDH File #92428: On 4/3/92, permittee sold a hearing instrument to -MN
for $900.00. MN signed a check made out to Senior Hearing Care for $450.00.
MN claims that Permittee used high pressure sales tactics to make the sale to
her. Permittee denies that he used high pressure sales tactics to make a sale
to MN. MN stopped payment on the check and canceled the purchase agreement.
MN has not lost any money in this matter. Permittee is now working outside of
the State of Minnesota and has changed professions. Permittee has no plans to
re-enter the hearing aid selling field in any state. Permittee agrees that
revocation of his permit to sel]l hearing instruments in Minnesota is the best
way to resolve this matter.

b. MDH File #92455: On 7/14/92, Permittee sold a pair of hearing aids to
RG for $1000.00. RG paid $500.00 down on the transaction. RG claims that
Permittee used high pressure sales tactics to make the sale to her. Permittee
denies that he used high pressure sales tactics to make a sale to RG. RG
canceled the purchase agreement and received a full refund from Permittee.
Permittee is now working outside of the State of Minnesota and has changed
professions. Permittee has no plans to re-enter the hearing aid selling field
in any state. Permittee agrees that revocation of his permit to sell hearing
instruments in Minnesota is the best way to resolve this matter.

3. For purposes of this Stipulation, Permittee expressly waives all
procedures and proceedings before the Commissioner of Health to which
Permittee may be entitled under the Minnesota and/or United States
constitutions, statutes, rules and also waives the right to any judicial
review or appeal under the Administrative Procedures Act, by writ of
certiorari under Minn. Stat. §480A.06, or otherwise from the order issued by
the Commissioner of Health pursuant to this stipulation;

4. Except as otherwise specified herein, this Stipulation and Consent Order,
investigative reports, and related documents shall constitute the entire




record of the proceedings herein upon which this order is based and shall be
filed with the Department. Any reports or other material related to this
action and received after the date this Stipulation and Consent Order is
executed shall become part of the record and may be considered by the
Department in future aspects of this proceeding. These items shall maintain
the data classification to which they are entitled under the Minnesota
Government Data Practices Act, Minn. Stat. Ch. 13. They shall not be
considered a part of this Stipulation and Consent Order and shall not, %o the
extent they are not already public documents, become public merely because
they are referenced herein;

5. In the event the Commissioner in her discretion does not approve this
settlement, or a lesser remedy than specified herein, this Stipulation and
Consent Order shall be null and void and shall not be used for any purpose by
either party hereto; provided however, that this should occur and thereafter
an administrative contested case is initiated pursuant to Minn. Stat. Ch. 14
and §153A.15, Permittee agrees that he will not raise any objection on any
administrative level or in any court action to the Department’s proceeding and
hearing the case on the basis that the Commissioner has become disqualified
due to her review and consideration of this Stipulation and record. In
exchange for this agreement by Permittee, the Commissioner agrees, in the
event she does not approve this stipulation, to grant Permittee all legal
rights and remedies available to him under the Minnesota and United States
constitutions, Minnesota Statutes, and rules of the Department, except as -
expressly provided for in this paragraph;

6. This Stipulation shall not in any way or manner limit or affect the
authority of the Commissioner to proceed against Permittee by initiating a
contested case hearing or by other appropriate means on the basis of any act,
conduct, or admission of Permittee justifying discipliinary action which
occurred before or after the date of this Stipulation and which is not
directly related to specific facts and circumstances set forth h?rein;

7. Upon this Stipulation and Consent Order and all of the facts, records, and
proceedings herein, and without further notice or hearings herein, Permittee
does hereby consent that the Commissioner may make and enter an order
affecting Permittee’s authorization to sel) hearing instruments in the State
of Minnesota as follows:. )

a. Permittee agrees to pay a civil penalty of $167.50 to the Department to
cover the costs incurred in investigating the cases described in paragraph 2.
Permittee agrees to provide this civil penalty to the Department within 45
days of the date the Stipulation and Consent Order is fully executed and
received by the Permittee. Permittee shall mail the civil penalty to: Rich
Diffatte, Legal Analyst, Health Occupations Program, Minnesota Department of
Health, 717 S.E. Delaware Street, P.0. Box 9441, Minneapolis, MN, 55440;

b. Permittee agrees to a revocation of his permit (#620) to sell hearing
instruments for three years in accordance with Minnesota Statute §153A.15
subd. 2(3). This revocation shall commence immediately on the date this
Stipulation and Consent Order is fully executed and received by the Permittee;




c. Permittee agrees to comply with Minnesota Statutes Chapter §153A in its
entirety;

8. If Permittee fails to comply with the terms, conditions, and requirements
specified in paragraph 8 above, the Permittee shall be Tiable for, and confess
judgment to, an additional civil penalty of $1000.00 in favor of the State of
Minnesota and judgment shall be entered therefor without a hearing or judicial
review. Before invoking the $1000.00 civil penalty, the Department shall
inform the Permittee of the violation and ask for an explanation. The
Department shall mail the notice of the violation via first class mail to the
last known address of the Permittee. Such mailing shall be considered
personal service upon Permittee. If the explanation is unsatisfactory as
determined by the Department, then the Commissioner shall be informed of the

violation and of the Permittea’s explanation. The Commissioner may then
assess the $1000.00 civil penalty. The Commissioner shall be the sole judge
of whether Permittee violated the Stipulation and Order and of whether
Permittee should be assessed the $1000.00 civil penalty. The Commissioner’s
Order for a civil penalty shall not be subject to judicial review or appeal
under the Administrative Procedures Act, by writ of certiorari under Minnesota
Statutes §480A.06 or otherwise. The Commissioner may also initiate a hearing
under Minnesota Statute Chapter 14 to determine what additional disciplinary

action should be taken;

9. Any appropriate federal or state court shall, upon application of the -
Commissioner, enter an order of enforcement of any or all of the terms of this
Stipulation and Consent Order;

10. Permittee hereby acknowledges that he has read, understcod, and agreed to
this Stipuiation and Consent Order and has freely and voluntarily signed it.
In signing this Stipulation and Consent Order, Permittee acknowledges that he
is fully aware that it must be approved by the Commissioner. The Commissioner
may either approve the Stipulation and Consent Order as proposed, approve it
subject to specified changes, or reject it. If the Commissioner approves the
Stipulation or makes a change acceptable to the Permittee, the Commissioner
will issue the Order and the Stipulation will take effect. If the changes are
unacceptable to Permittee or the Commissioner rejects the Stipulation and
Consent Order, it will be of no effect;

11. This Stipulation contains the entire agreement between the parties, there
being no other agreement of any kind, verbal or otherwise, which varies this

Stipulation;

12. Upon this Stipulation and Consent Order and all other evidence made
available to the Commissioner, the Commissioner may at any time after she has
approved this Stipulation and Consent Order issue it to Permittee without
further notice. A copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order when issued by
the Commissioner shall be served by first class mail on Permittee, which
service will be considered personal service upon Permittee. This Stipulation
and Consent Order is effective upon service.




pated: __5-7-9% 1993

Dated: y 1993

Dated: £/ 273 , 1993
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i Meers, Permittee
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Jéi;ﬁ?ﬁ}?igan, Attorney for Permittee N
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Legal Analyst

Health Occupations Program

Upon consideration of this stipulation and all the files, records and
proceedings herein by the Commissioner,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the terms of this stipulation are adopted

implemented by the Commissioner this ﬂ‘day oi?a;dg 19¢
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STATE OF MINNESOTA

Lomm1ss1oner of Health




