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Universal Newborn Hearing Screening 
S A M P L E  P O L I C Y  A N D  P R O C E D U R E  F O R  T H E  N E W B O R N
N U R S E R Y  

[FACILITY’S NAME] 

Purpose 
To meet Minnesota state requirements related to mandatory newborn hearing screening of all 
newborns before 1 month of age, documenting the results in the medical record, reporting the 
results of the screening to the primary care physician, the parent(s)/guardian(s), and to the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). 

Policy 
Individuals who are trained to do hearing screenings will provide an initial hearing screen for all 
newborns after 12 hours of age and ideally between 24 hours and 14 days of age. Infants who 
do not pass the initial screening will receive a rescreening by their midwife provider ideally 
within one to two weeks of initial screen date and no later than 1 month of age.  Exceptions 
include a) newborns who are transferred out to tertiary facilities, b) newborns whose 
parent(s)/guardian(s) refuse or choose to delay the procedure, and c) midwives who do not 
have hearing screening equipment available must provide information to parents where they 
may have their child’s hearing screened.  

Version 
November 2023 

Procedure 

A. Preparations for Hearing Screening
1. Give parent(s)/guardian(s) informational brochure or fact sheet about newborn hearing

screening. Minnesota Department of Health recommends use of the Newborn Hearing
Screening Fact Sheet, which can be ordered free of charge.

2. Parental options:

a. MN state law allows parent(s)/guardian(s) to choose to have their child’s hearing
screened, but to request that the MDH’s record of the hearing test be destroyed.

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingscreeningfactsheet.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingscreeningfactsheet.pdf
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i. Have parent complete & sign the Directive to Destroy Newborn Blood Samples and 
Newborn Screening Test Results form: 

ii. Place original document in infant’s electronic medical record. 

iii. Provide copies to the parent(s)/guardian(s), newborn’s primary care physician, and 
the MDH Newborn Screening Program (see instructions on the form). 

b. MN state law allows parent(s)/guardian(s) to refuse or delay their child’s hearing 
screening. Because this decision is a serious one, parent(s)/guardian(s) need to review 
the benefits of hearing screening with their provider.  

i. Have parent complete & sign the Parental Refusal or Delay of Newborn Screening 
form.   

ii. Place original document in infant’s electronic medical record. 

iii. Provide copies to the parent(s)/guardian(s), newborn’s primary care physician, and 
the MDH Newborn Screening Program (see instructions on the form). 

3. Determine if infant is appropriate to screen.  

a. Infant needs screening. 

b. Infant is ideally at least 12 hours of age for well-baby nursery. 

c. NICU infant meets minimum age for hearing screening device (if applicable and specified 
per each device) and is medically stable. 

d. Infant is in a “quiet” state. 

4. Follow hospital infection control procedure. 

5. Prepare infant for screening by following step-by-step instructions located with the 
screening equipment.  

6. Choose a quiet location for completing testing (either nursery exam room, or mother’s 
room if a quiet environment can be ensured). 

7. Screen both ears. 

a. Note: it is important not to repeatedly rescreen as this may result in a false PASS.  Some 
babies will need more specialized testing. 

B. Results 
1. If infant passes: 

a. Both ears must pass a single screening to be considered an overall passing result.  

b. If NICU infant’s health status changes and includes new risk factors for hearing loss 
after passing an initial screening, another screening prior to discharge is warranted. 

c. Document hearing screen results in infant’s medical record and any other location 
required by hospital policy. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/2020directivetodestroy.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/2020directivetodestroy.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/refusaldelay.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/refusaldelay.pdf
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d. Inform parent(s)/guardian(s) of PASS result and give them appropriate written 
information. The MDH PASS Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form is orderable in 
multiple languages on the MDH Newborn Screening Materials and Resources webpage. 

i. PASS: Indicates the infant passed the hearing screening in both ears. Encourage the 
parent(s)/guardian(s) to express any future concerns about their child’s hearing to 
their primary care physician. 

e. Notify infant’s primary care physician of PASS result. 

f. Ensure routine export of hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 
electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals, and a minimum of three 
times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually. 

2. If infant refers/does not pass/has incomplete screen or technical fail: 

a. Document hearing screen results in infant’s medical record and any other location 
required by hospital policy. 

b. Inform parent(s)/guardian(s) of REFER/DID NOT PASS result and that a rescreen prior to 
discharge will be completed.  

c. Ensure routine export of hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 
electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals, and a minimum of three 
times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually. 

d. Rescreen both ears at a later time, at least four to six hours later and prior to hospital 
discharge. 

C. Rescreen Before Discharge Procedure (for infants not passing initial 
screening) 
1. Follow Preparation for Hearing Screening section (A, 3-7) above. 

2. Rescreen both ears prior to discharge (ideally at least four to six hours later), even if one ear 
passed a previous screen. Both ears must pass in a single screening for an overall passing 
result. Combining passing results in opposite ears on successive screens does not equal a 
passing result. 

3. If NICU infant’s health status changes and includes new risk factors for hearing loss after 
passing an initial screening, another screening prior to discharge is warranted. 

4. If infant passes, see instructions B1 above.  

5. If infant refers/does not pass/has incomplete screen or technical fail for the second 
screen: 

a. Document hearing screen results in infant’s medical record and any other location 
required by hospital policy. 

b. Schedule hearing follow-up appointment within two weeks of discharge. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingpass.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/education.html
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i. Appropriate locations for the FIRST outpatient rescreen could include hospital 
nursery screening staff, primary care (if they have appropriate screening device for 
infants), audiology clinic, or other provider with appropriate screening device and 
training for newborn hearing screening. 

ii. Visit could be scheduled the same day as a lactation, weight check, or well-baby visit 
for family convenience.  

c. NICU infants should ideally receive diagnostic audiology consult for full assessment prior 
to discharge. If this is not possible, schedule a diagnostic audiology appointment as an 
outpatient within two weeks after discharge. Additional outpatient rescreening for 
NICU infants is not recommended. 

d. Inform parent(s)/guardian(s) of REFER/DID NOT PASS result, follow-up information, and 
appointment dates. 

e. Provide parent(s)/guardian(s) with REFER Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form, 
which documents results and explains follow-up plan. 

i. REFER: Indicates the infant did not pass the hearing screening in one or both ears. 
Help parent(s)/guardian(s) understand that a REFER/DID NOT PASS result does not 
mean their child has a hearing loss but that they need additional testing to know 
more about hearing levels. Emphasize the importance of follow-up appointments for 
early hearing loss identification. 

f. Notify primary care physician of FINAL inpatient REFER/DID NOT PASS test results and 
date/location of scheduled hearing follow-up appointment. 

g. Report/document outpatient follow-up appointment date to MDH.  

i. MNScreen data manager/Super User will log into MNScreen and enter appointment 
information (location, date, time) as Hearing Note. 

h. Ensure routine export of hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 
electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals, and a minimum of three 
times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually.  

D. Missed Hearing Screen / Equipment Malfunction 
1. Discharge summary should clearly indicate that hearing screening was not completed prior 

to discharge. 

2. Schedule hearing screen at hospital nursery (or alternate site as planned) as soon as 
possible after discharge. 

3. Instruct parent(s)/guardian(s) on follow-up information and appointment date. 

4. Report/document outpatient hearing screen appointment date to MDH.  

a. MNScreen data manager/Super User will log into MNScreen and enter appointment 
information (location, date, time) as Hearing Note. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingrefer.pdf
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5. Notify primary care physician of missed hearing screen status, and hearing screening 
appointment date. 

6. If infant/family does not show for hearing screen appointment: 

a. Call family to reschedule hearing screen. Hearing screen should be completed before 1 
month of age. 

b. If infant is older than 1 month of age, schedule with audiology for follow-up. 

c. When infant does return for hearing screen, follow Outpatient Rescreen by Hospital 
Nursery section (H) below. 

E. Transferred Out Infants 
1. Discharge or transfer summary should clearly indicate that hearing screening was not 

completed prior to transfer. 

2. Document name of receiving hospital in the MDH MNScreen electronic platform.  

a. MNScreen data manager/Super User will log into MNScreen and enter name of Transfer 
Hospital and transfer date as Hearing Note. 

3. The hospital that discharges infant to home is responsible for completing hearing screening. 

F. Transferred-in Infants 
1. The hospital that discharges to home is responsible for completing newborn hearing 

screening and for exporting those results to MDH using the secure MNScreen electronic 
platform. 

2. If transfer documents do not provide ear specific hearing screening results and date of 
screen then follow procedure sections in A-D above. 

G. Result Reporting / Documentation 
1. Report results of newborn hearing screening to: 

a. The parent(s)/guardian(s) should receive results verbally and in writing. 

b. The primary care physician should receive the FINAL inpatient results, and any 
outpatient results completed by hospital birth center staff. 

c. The Minnesota Department of Health (see section I below for details). 

2. Document results of the newborn hearing screening: 

a. In the infant’s electronic medical record. 

i. Include the hearing screening method (AABR or OAE), date, time, individual ear 
results. 

b. In the Discharge Summary: 
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i. Include the hearing screening date, time, individual ear results, and any scheduled 
follow-up visits for hearing evaluation. 

c. Internal charting and discharge summary MUST match final hearing screening result in 
the actual hearing screening device, and what is electronically submitted to MNScreen. 

d. All hearing screen results in the device must be routinely exported to MDH using the 
MNScreen electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals, and a 
minimum of three times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually. 

H. Outpatient rescreen (if completed by hospital nursery staff) 
*If outpatient rescreen is completed by primary care or an audiologist, that provider is 
responsible for following the steps below and for reporting the result to MDH. 

1. Follow procedure steps A 4-7 above:  

a. Note: Both ears must be rescreened even if one ear had passed previously. 

b. Both ears must pass in a single screening for an overall passing result. Combining 
passing results in opposite ears on successive screens does not equal a passing result. 

c. Note: it is important not to repeatedly rescreen as this may result in a false pass. Some 
babies will need more specialized testing from an audiologist. 

2. If infant passes: 

a. Both ears must pass a single screening to be considered as an overall passing result. 

b. Document results in infant’s medical record and any other location required by hospital 
policy.  

i. Include the hearing screening method (AABR or OAE), date, time, individual ear 
results. 

c. Inform parent/guardian of PASS screening results and provide written documentation. 
The MDH PASS Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form is orderable in multiple 
languages. 

d. Notify infant’s primary care provider of PASS outpatient rescreening result. 

e. Ensure routine export of hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 
electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals, and a minimum of three 
times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually.  

3. If infant refers/does not pass/has incomplete screen or technical fail: 

a. Document results in infant’s electronic medical record.  

i. Include the hearing screening method (AABR or OAE), date, time, individual ear 
results. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingpass.pdf
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b. Inform parent/guardian of REFER/DID NOT PASS screening results and provide written 
documentation. The MDH REFER Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form is 
orderable in multiple languages. 

c. Notify infant’s primary care provider of REFER/DID NOT PASS hearing outpatient 
rescreening result. 

d. Schedule appointment for diagnostic audiology evaluation as soon as possible, ideally 
between four to six weeks after hospital discharge. Make sure that a physician order for 
this is in place. 

e. Report/document diagnostic audiology appointment date to MDH.  

i. MNScreen data manager/Super User will log into MNScreen and enter appointment 
information (location, date, time) as Hearing Note.  

f. Report/document diagnostic audiology appointment date to primary care provider. 

g. Ensure routine export of hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 
electronic platform. This should occur daily for most hospitals and a minimum of three 
times weekly for birth facilities with <500 births annually. 

4. If infant/family does not show for hearing rescreen appointment. 

a. Call family to reschedule outpatient hearing rescreen before 1 month of age. 

b. If infant is older than 1 month refer & schedule with audiology site for follow-up. 

c. Communicate new appointment information to primary care provider and MDH. 

I. Reporting results to the Minnesota Department of Health – critical 
staff function 
1. Ensure routine export of all hearing screening results to MDH using the MNScreen 

electronic platform. Hearing screen results should be exported to MDH daily for most 
hospitals, and a minimum of three times weekly for birth facilities with < 500 births 
annually. 

2. Plan for back-up staff to carry out this function in the event of illness, vacation, or staff 
vacancy. 

3. Confirm that export was completely successful. 

4. Incomplete transfers of data or other technical issues should immediately be resolved by 
contacting the OZ Systems Help Desk at 888-727-3366 ext. 3, or ozhelp@revvity.com. 

J. Contingency plan for equipment failure 
1. Contact BioMed per hospital policy to evaluate equipment failure. 

2. Contact Equipment Manufacturer Technical Support (may be facilitated by BioMed) to 
arrange for loaner equipment, if needed. 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingrefer.pdf
mailto:ozhelp@revvity.com
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3. Babies who miss hearing screening due to equipment malfunction must be brought back for 
screening when the equipment is repaired, or they should be scheduled by the hospital for 
screening elsewhere. All screening should be completed before 1 month of age. 

4. Discharge summary should clearly indicate baby was not screened prior to discharge (if 
screening could not be completed). 

K. Staff training 
1. All staff providing hearing screening will receive orientation and education on the Newborn 

Hearing Screening Program during their orientation to the birthing unit and as needed. This 
will be documented on the orientation checklist. 

2. Staff providing hearing screening will each have initial and annual refresher training to 
assure qualified competent hearing screeners. 

3. MDH audiologists can be available to provide onsite training, or a national online curriculum 
can be used. 

L. References 
1 Newborn Hearing Screening Fact Sheet. Retrieved from 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingscreeningfact
sheet.pdf 

2 Directive to Destroy Newborn Blood Samples and Newborn Screening Test Results form. 
Retrieved from 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/2020dire
ctivetodestroy.pdf 

3 Parental Refusal or Delay Newborn Screening form. Retrieved from. Retrieved from 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/refusalde
lay.pdf 

4 MDH PASS Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form. Retrieved from 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingpass.pdf 

5 MDH Newborn Screening Materials and Resources webpage. Retrieved from 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/education.html 

6 REFER Result: Hearing Screen Result Notification form. Retrieved from 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingrefer.pdf 

 

 

 
Minnesota Department of Health 
Minnesota Newborn Screening Program 
601 Robert St. N 

https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingscreeningfactsheet.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingscreeningfactsheet.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/2020directivetodestroy.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/2020directivetodestroy.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/refusaldelay.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/legalforms/refusaldelay.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingpass.pdf
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/education.html
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/materials/hearingrefer.pdf


N E W B O R N  H E A R I N G  S C R E E N I N G  F O R  N E W B O R N  N U R S E R Y  

9  

PO Box 64899 
St. Paul, MN 55164 
651-201-5466  
health.newbornscreening@state.mn.us 
https://www.health.state.mn.us/newbornscreening/ 
http://www.improveehdi.org/mn/ 

12/2023 

To obtain this information in a different format, call: 651-201-5466. 

mailto:health.newbornscreening@state.mn.us
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/newbornscreening/index.html
https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/improveehdi/state.html
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