

# Psychedelic Medicine Task Force Meeting Summary

- Participants listed below.
- Meeting documents with presentation slides provide more detail and are available on the <u>task force</u> webpage (https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/psychmed/index.html).

## Meeting Summary: July 1, 2024, 9:30 AM - 12:30 PM

#### Welcome

Facilitator, Stacy Sjogren, with Management Analysis and Development (MAD), called the meeting to order. She reviewed rules of engagement for the meeting, welcomed outside observers, introduced task force staff, and gave reference to the task force webpage to find more information. Stacy also reviewed the legislative charge and task force duties as found on slides 5-7 in the <u>July meeting presentation</u> (https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/psychmed/docs/july24agenda.pdf).

An announcement was made that Senator Kelly Morrison has resigned from the Minnesota Senate and therefore will no longer serve on the task force. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) will be working with the legislature to fill both Senate task force seats.

Roll call was taken, and quorum was secured. See voting log at the bottom of this meeting summary for attendance.

## **Approve June meeting summary**

A motion was made and seconded to approve the June 2024 meeting summary as written. Motion carried. See voting log for details.

## **Task force logistical business**

Dr. Jessica Nielson, task force chair, asked task force members to share public feedback collected from their respective constituencies.

Bennet Hartz responded he will have more clear and substantive feedback from the Attorney General when the task force has more specifics to respond to.

Guthrie Capossela expressed a need for broader education and feedback opportunities from Tribes in the state. He will host a public survey, webinar, and roundtable discussion in July, which he will send to the task force.

Paula DeSanto will be meeting with some representatives from White Earth Nation and had the opportunity to talk to several veterans.

Helen Bassett has informed leadership at the Minnesota Department of Commerce (COMM) of task force decisions that will soon be coming.

#### Decision flow chart and timeline discussion

Dr. Nielson provided an overview of the task force timeline, the meeting agenda, and desired meeting outcomes found on slide 8-10 of the meeting presentation. Dr. Nielson also overviewed the task force flow chart steps found on slides 12-13 of the meeting presentation.

#### **Break**

#### **Recommendation process explanation**

Dr. Nielson explained the process for considering the recommendations found on slides 15-17 of the meeting presentation. Task force members will consider each recommendation using a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) analysis and express their support on the gradients of agreement in the task force Mural.

## **Recommendation presentation and discussion**

For each recommendation (slides 15-17 of the meeting presentation), task force members used Mural to collectively participate in a SWOT analysis, engage in discussion, and express their support on the gradients of agreement.

## **Adjourn**

Members of the public were reminded that if they have comments to provide to the task force, they can email <a href="mailto:health.pyschedelicmedicine@state.mn.us">health.pyschedelicmedicine@state.mn.us</a>.

## **Participants**

#### **Task force members**

- Courtney Amundson
- Helen Bassett
- Guthrie Capossela
- Paula DeSanto
- Stefan Egan

- Dr. Margaret Gavian
- Bennett Hartz
- Dave Hoang
- Nick Lehnertz
- Dr. Jessica Nielson
- Kit O'Neill
- Jill Phillips
- Ken Sass
- Donovan Sather
- Rep. Andy Smith
- Michael Tabor
- Adam Tomczik

#### Others

- Jessica Burke, MAD
- Stacy Sjogren, MAD
- Nick Kor, MAD
- Kari Gloppen, MDH
- Dr. Caroline Johnson, MDH

# **Next task force meeting**

Monday, August 5, 2024, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm

# **Voting log**

Member name	Roll Call	Vote on minutes from June 2024
		Motion: Tomcizk
		Second: Courtney
Courtney Amundson	Present	Yes
Helen Bassett	Present	Abstain
Guthrie Capossela	Present	Yes
Sen. Julia Coleman	N/A	N/A
Paula DeSanto	Present	Yes
Jeremy Drucker	Absent	
Stefan Egan	Present	Abstain
Dr. Margaret Gavian	Present	Yes
Bennett Hartz	Present	Yes

David Hoang (off camera)	Present	Yes
Nick Lehnertz	Present	Yes
Arielle "Ari" McHenry	Absent	Yes
Sen. Kelly Morrison	N/A	N/A
Dr. Jessica Nielson	Present	Yes
Kit O'Neill	Present	Yes
Jill Phillips	Present	Yes
Kenneth Sass	Present	Yes
Donovan Sather	Present	Yes
Rep. Andy Smith	Present	Yes
Michael Tabor	Present	Yes
Adam Tomczik	Present	Yes
Dr. Ranji Varghese	Absent	
Rep. Nolan West	Absent	